Home  »  News


New Chair elected for NHS Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group

08 April 2016

*Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group (BCCG) is delighted to announce the appointment of its new Chair, Dr Alvin Low who has been elected to the role by fellow GPs from the 55 member practices in Bedfordshire.

The appointment of a clinician as Chair supports the involvement of family doctors and other clinicians in buying and planning local health services for Bedfordshire residents.

Dr Low takes over the role of Chair from Steve Hone who held the position for the past year, and will assume full responsibility from Friday 15 April 2016 to serve a three year term.

Dr Low trained at the Royal Free Hospital, London and as a GP with the Lister Hospital in Stevenage, and has been a full time GP partner at Biggleswade Health Centre since 2000. He has a Diploma in Geriatric Medicine and is a member of the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP). He has also held the role of Clinical Chair of Ivel Valley Locality for the past three years.

BCCG’s Accountable Officer Matthew Tait said: “We are delighted to welcome Dr Alvin Low, a highly respected local GP as our new Clinical Chair. Alvin brings valuable clinical experience and a firm commitment to patients and I look forward to working with him in his new role. This marks a new chapter for the CCG and puts clinical leadership at the heart of our decision making.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank our Lay Chair, Steve Hone for support, leadership and professionalism he has brought to the CCG over the past year.”

Dr Alvin Low said: “I look forward to working with our Governing Body and local organisations at an exciting time when the CCG will commission general practice in partnership with NHS England. It has been my privilege to serve as Chair of Ivel Valley locality, and I look forward to the opportunity to help lead our CCG through these changes.

I understand the challenges facing primary care medicine from my daily work as a GP and hope to influence positive change through schemes such as our Primary Care Working Group to bring new GPs to Bedfordshire.”

The appointment of Dr Low brings the CCG into line with NHS Regulations which require CCGs to have an elected Clinical Chair where there is an appointed non-clinical Accountable Officer in post.

Notes to editors

For more information, contact communications@bedfordshirecg.nhs.uk or Katrina Grant, Communications Manager T:01525 864406/ 01525 864430

Notes to editors
• The Chair is responsible for ensuring that the CCG builds and maintains effective partnerships and collaborative relationships with key stakeholders such as local authorities, NHS England, neighbouring CCGs, Healthwatch and voluntary organisations.

• Dr Low’s election as Chair was ratified at the meeting of BCCG’s Governing Body on Thursday 07 April 2016.
• Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group is responsible for planning, organising and buying NHS-funded healthcare for the 441,000 people who live in Bedfordshire. This includes hospital, community health and mental health services.
• BCCG is run by GPs, nurses, hospital doctors and other clinicians – the people you see whenever you come into contact with the NHS. All 55 GP practices in Bedfordshire are members of the CCG which is divided into five areas, which we call localities. These are: Bedford, Chiltern Vale, Leighton Buzzard, Ivel Valley and West Mid Bedfordshire and all of the 55 GP practices in Bedfordshire are members.

View the full list of news stories

Site design and maintenance by CRB Associates